Frustrating Nvidia Card Issue

Jeepnutt

Aug 1, 2024
I am trying (for the last 3 hours) to install promox on my pc. I have an i9 12900K and an MSI motherboard with z690 along with a 3090. I see there are issues with nvidia and installing promox. I used the nomodeset and it finally passed the loading driver screen but now gets hung up on something else and won't install. I am really new to Linux so all the "guides" are way over my head. I have been reading about how easy this program is, but I can't even get it installed. This is why Linux sucks and will never be main stream. It's so damn frustrating for new people to work with. Guess i'm back to windows and a dual seat program. Ridiculous.

I have no idea. Let me go try to fail again and get the long error message posted here

Turned off secure boot and trusted computing and got it installed. Cool. Now it says to go to 192.168.100.2:8006 from browser. And of course that isn't working either. Guess another 3 hours to figure out how to log in. Just stupid.

Turned off secure boot and trusted computing and got it installed. Cool.

Well that was fast.

Now it says to go to 192.168.100.2:8006 from browser.

And what does ip a show? Is this part of the network your router will not make any conflict with? (e.g. .2 address likely would have been part of it's DHCP pool).

And of course that isn't working either.

ping 192.168.100.2 from another machine on the same network does work?

Guess another 3 hours to figure out how to log in. Just stupid.

I don't know, if you are fast, might be fast reply too. :D

Reactions: leesteken