Failed to boot Proxmox today.

lebinho

Oct 10, 2024
Hi i have on wyse5070 proxmox. Worked all well for more than 1 month and today I woke up with no homeassistant automations so went to my wyse to see what is happening.
I tried rebooting but all i get is
Press F1 key to retry boot. --- tried multipletimes
Press F2 key for setup utility.
Press F5 key to run onboard diagnostics.

Tired all 3 and also I've created a bootable usb and went to recovery mode but was not able to reboot proxmox. I have been working on my NAS yesterday (not yet finished) so only backups of proxmox and it's containers is on local disk (wonderful timing). Fortunately the most time i spent on setting up HomeAssistant but here i have backups so not a problem to recover once i have proxmox back and running.

I am new to proxmox and linux so try to follow what i get on the screen and try chat-gpt to help me with issues - this helped few times in the past.

Can someone help me with troubleshooting here ?

This is what I get when I try to do it myself:
-When I boot i get this screen - boot1.jpeg
-proxmox option returns:
-grub options where I have options to pick proxmox or proxmox recovery mode.
-when I go with normal I get - boot2.jpeg.
- running "fsck /dev/mapper/pve-root" returned - boot3

What next ?

Attachments

• boot1.jpeg
    boot1.jpeg
    138.8 KB · Views: 11
  • boot2.jpeg
    boot2.jpeg
    141.3 KB · Views: 11
  • boot3.jpeg
    boot3.jpeg
    368.5 KB · Views: 11
"- running "fsck /dev/mapper/pve-root" returned - boot3" smeel hardly bad....

Can you boot on liveCD OS, and check SMART attributes.
If nothing bad @ first view, run you fsck in this liveOS, and see what's appening

Will try. But I think I've tried that before. Other question - if i start the proxmox installation will it remove my old containers? Or is there a way to reinstall and have previously installed containers and vm ? or do something that I can get back to my proxmox backup files to recover what was backed up ?