Deploying a QCOW2 image on V.2

gregober

Apr 20, 2012
Hello folks,

I am new to proxmox. Have deployed It on a test server and started playing with it a bit.
Now I am getting into more serious stuff…

We have created a QCOW2 image of one of our server and would like to redeploy It on proxmox.
It seems that I have been able to deploy It somehow, but when I try to start It I have the following message :

Code:
Warning: configuration file for distribution testbed.tar.gz not found, using defaults from /etc/vz/dists/default
Starting container ...
Container is mounted
Unable to open /var/lib/vz/root/100/sbin/init-logger: No such file or directory
Unable to copy init-logger
Not enough resources to start environment
Container start failed (try to check kernel messages, e.g. "dmesg | tail")
Container is unmounted
TASK ERROR: command 'vzctl start 100' failed: exit code 6

What is the recommended way of deploying this image ?
Any recommended lecture / pointer will be welcome ?

[solved]

I have managed to make It work :

1. Created a VM in proxmox web GUI using .qcow2 when asked (under CD/DVD choose "no media")
2. Identify the location of the recently created image on the proxmox system : /var/lib/vz/images/xxx
3. cd into the xxx directory corresponding to the newly created machine
4. mv the system created by proxmox and rename it to smthg like : vm-102-disk-1.qcow2.old
5. copy your external image to the system and put It the directory /var/lib/vz/images/xxx (where xxx=VM number)
6. delete the vm-102-disk-1.qcow2.old
7. start the VM machine

You are done !

Thanks for your support.

Or....

# mkdir /var/lib/vz/images/(VMID)/

and move your .qcow2 image into that directory, then

# vi /etc/pve/nodes/(nodename)/qemu-server/(VMID).conf

bootdisk: ide0
cores: 1 (or how many cores to give the machine)
ide0: local:209026/vm-209026-disk-1.qcow2 (or whatever your qcow2 image name is)
memory: 1024 (or how many MB to give the machine)
name: your.machine.name