Deciding between Proxmox and VMWare

MrTK

Nov 12, 2023
Hey Guy's,

Hope everyone is doing good!

Had a few questions on ProxMox as I've never used it before, vs VMWare suite of products to see regarding capabilities of both. Watched a few videos and read a few articles but though they did show specific use cases, I didn't get the full answer I was looking for:

1 - Am I able to setup multiple VLAN's using ProxMox as I normally do with VMWare set of tools like ESXi, VCSA etc?

2 - Can I control RAID levels, filesystem types (ie XFS vs EXT3-4) for individual drives used as datastores or does ProxMox fully control all drives on the system? For example, if I wanted to roll my own RAID 6 or setup a disk with XFS or ZFS for use with ProxMox via the shell, will ProxMox recognize such a disk and be able to use it as is? Another example, is can I use utilities such as HP's ssacli to create such storages via HW RAID controllers?

3 - KVM, can I access KVM VM defined variables (ie parameters) from within each VM I create with ProxMox? For example, can I access the VM specific's as were defined by the libvirt / KVM XML such as custom parameters defined on the domain XML file which would be accessible / retrievable from within the running KVM VM guest for use on the guest? Purpose is to use them to customize apps or the VM using these.

4 - Guest disk expansions and shrinking. KVM has a rather annoying requirements of having to copy the entire drive to resize it in the past. For resizing, one recommendation is to make a backup copy of the disk which is then used for input to the qemu-img convert to resize or shrink etc. Is there an easier way with ProxMox tools, perhaps in the UI or would this be something one would do by dropping to the shell and working with KVM / libvirt / qemu tools with?

5 - Does ProxMox offer an equivalent snapshot feature to the one on VMware solutions? It's instantaneous there and wondering if the same exists via ProxMox?