CEPHFS add MDS

a.davanzo

Nov 18, 2020
Hello
i want to use PVE with ceph for server cephFS.
actually i've an old ceph cluster build as a virtual that i want to replace with PVE for managing CEPH.

in previus cluster i've 3 MDS, 2 active and 1 stanby, i've a lot of connection to this cephfs.

i don't find a way to add more then 1 active MDS to fspool with PVE, i've read by default on pve it's only one.
it's possibile to increase?
how?

Thanks

The official documentation at https://docs.ceph.com/en/latest/architecture/#arch-cephfs seems to suggest that there is one active MDS and additional ones on standby:

The extra ceph-mds instances can be standby, ready to take over the duties of any failed ceph-mds that was active.

And that's what I see here. I have only one CephFS; one MDS is "active" and one is "standby".

In my understanding this is per CephFS. If you have more than one FS there may be multiple active MDS.

Disclaimer: I am not a Ceph expert and may happily proven wrong.

The official documentation at https://docs.ceph.com/en/latest/architecture/#arch-cephfs seems to suggest that there is one active MDS and additional ones on standby:

And that's what I see here. I have only one CephFS; one MDS is "active" and one is "standby".

In my understanding this is per CephFS. If you have more than one FS there may be multiple active MDS.

Disclaimer: I am not a Ceph expert and may happily proven wrong.
  • Scalability: Multiple ceph-mds instances can be active, and theywill split the directory tree into subtrees (and shards of a singlebusy directory), effectively balancing the load amongst all activeservers.

Combinations of standby and active etc are possible, for examplerunning 3 active ceph-mds instances for scaling, and one standbyinstance for high availability.

Reactions: UdoB
Thats exactly right. You can add as many MDS's to the cluster, but their function would be dictated by your policies.