Ceph cluster private network help

dwheeler

Jul 26, 2024
Hello I am new to proxmox and need help figuring out how to change my ceph traffic to use a different network.
Bond1 and Bond2 are what I want my ceph traffic to use as each of those bonds is 4x25gb.
Bond 1 and 2 share a switch that is seperated from everything else
I tried just changing the cluster_network but that didn't work.

1722893621212.png

1722893641319.png

Last edited:
Hello I am new to proxmox and need help figuring out how to change my ceph traffic to use a different network.
Bond1 and Bond2 are what I want my ceph traffic to use as each of those bonds is 4x25gb.
Bond 1 and 2 share a switch that is seperated from everything else
I tried just changing the cluster_network but that didn't work.

View attachment 72470

View attachment 72471
You have mixed the Ceph configuration and Cluster/Corosync configuration.

Your 10.166.x.x network has no place in the Ceph configuration, this is intended for the host and the VMs.

Ceph Cluster is the backend traffic (OSD to OSD replication traffic).
Ceph Client Network is the network where the clients (storage consumers) access the OSD and monitor.

Currently your storage traffic and replication traffic runs over the VM network.

You have mixed the Ceph configuration and Cluster/Corosync configuration.

Your 10.166.x.x network has no place in the Ceph configuration, this is intended for the host and the VMs.

Ceph Cluster is the backend traffic (OSD to OSD replication traffic).
Ceph Client Network is the network where the clients (storage consumers) access the OSD and monitor.

Currently your storage traffic and replication traffic runs over the VM network.
Ok so I should swap out both the public_network and cluster_network to use the 10.1.1.x Ip address instead?

Two IPs from one subnet from one host is never a good idea.