Cannot connect to Proxmox after changing ports on switch

Aethelflaed

Aug 4, 2024
Hello,
I'm new to Proxmox and have set it up on a Dell 7810. I've gone through the installation and configuration without a problem and can reach the server through the web GIU. When I move the server from my office to it's permanent home in the basement, it get plugged into a different port on the same switch. Same network nothing change except the physical move and port. From that time forward I can't reach the server at all. The network lights on the Dell show orange orange. Even if I move it back to the office and plug it into the same port still no connection. This has occurred in 2 re installations, I'm sure it's something simple but I'm just not seeing the problem. I've done a big of searching and haven't found anything that seems to be similar to my problem.

I welcome any suggestions.

Did you configure a static IP address for Proxmox outside of the DHCP range of the router? Proxmox never refreshes the DHCP (that it might have gotten from the installer) since it assumes a static IP address. Maybe it expires on the router and/or the router does not accept the same address from multiple port?

Alternatively: If you plug in a PC/laptop in that network-cable in the basement that the proxmox-server is connected to, do you:
- Get an IP-adress
- Get internet-access
- Have a 1 gbps network-connection on the cable (orange lights usually mean less then 1000mbps/1gbps, and it can then be 100 or 10 and full or half duplex, although all of them SHOULD still allow (slow but possible) network.