Can`t backup LXC to NFS mounted storage

gralves

Aug 24, 2024
Hi,

I am new to proxmox and just finished intalling it and setting up some virtual machines and containers. Currently I have a VM running Truenas controlling directly the SATA card (PCI passthrought).

I sucessfully created a NFS storage for Proxmox for storing CT templates and ISO images - using the GUI I mapped it to an NFS share inside Truenas, and everything seems to be working fine.

I started having issues when I tried to create a backup NFS storage for the VMs and CTs. I did the same procedure I used for the templates and ISO image share creation. I managed to create and store backups of the VMs but when I try to create a backup of a container I get several instances of the following error:

Code:
2024-08-24 16:31:28 ERROR: rsync: [receiver] failed to set times on "/mnt/pve/truenas-backup/dump/vzdump-lxc-300-2024_08_24-16_30_31.tmp/var/log/.messages.yPILXz": Operation not permitted (1)
2024-08-24 16:31:28 ERROR: rsync: [receiver] failed to set times on "/mnt/pve/truenas-backup/dump/vzdump-lxc-300-2024_08_24-16_30_31.tmp/var/log/.wtmp.lVNxVZ": Operation not permitted (1)
2024-08-24 16:31:28 ERROR: rsync error: some files/attrs were not transferred (see previous errors) (code 23) at main.c(1338) [sender=3.2.7]
2024-08-24 16:31:40 ERROR: Backup of VM 300 failed - command 'rsync --stats -h --numeric-ids -aH --delete --no-whole-file --sparse --one-file-system --relative '--exclude=/tmp/?*' '--exclude=/var/tmp/?*' '--exclude=/var/run/?*.pid' /proc/584255/root//./ /mnt/pve/truenas-backup/dump/vzdump-lxc-300-2024_08_24-16_30_31.tmp' failed: exit code 23

I understand that this is problably an issue with permissions but I couldn`t figure out what it is nor how to solve it. I can create, modify and delete files on the directory (/mnt/pve/truenas-backup) as root on the pve host but every time I try to backup a container I get similar errors. How can I fix this?

About