Can not start new created VM

muekno

Dec 15, 2023
First I am new to Proxmox, but not to Linux or virtualisation, used ESX since more than 20 years.

After having running Proxmox creating vmbr0 I created my first VM using a tutorial I found at LINUX HANDBOOK. It's not a great thing giving a name select the uploaded ISO, I used the Debian bookworm netinstaller I created the server itself, so it should be fine, left the rest by defaults.
Proxmox created the VM without any complains. Now go to _console and tried to start, got an error after seconds, tried some more times, error again,
(connection timed out, start failed QUEMU exited with code 1),

What I am doing wrong
Thanks for help

Last edited:
Please provide a few details about your setup and the Config qm config VMID for the VM.

See Screenshots, may be my bridge config vmbr0 is not ok, but that should not be a matter at that time.

Here is my /etc/network/interfaces :
Code:
mk@proxmox:~$ cat /etc/network/interfaces
# network interface settings; autogenerated
# Please do NOT modify this file directly, unless you know what
# you're doing.
#
# If you want to manage parts of the network configuration manually,
# please utilize the 'source' or 'source-directory' directives to do
# so.
# PVE will preserve these directives, but will NOT read its network
# configuration from sourced files, so do not attempt to move any of
# the PVE managed interfaces into external files!

source /etc/network/interfaces.d/*

auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

auto enp2s0f0
iface enp2s0f0 inet static
        address 172.16.1.77/24
        gateway 172.16.1.254
        network 172.16.1.0
        dns-domain muekno.de
        dns-search muekno.de
        dns-search gerdakloos.de
        dns-nameserver mail.gerdakloos.de

iface enp2s0f0 inet6 auto

iface enp2s0f1 inet manual

iface enp3s0f0 inet manual

iface enp3s0f1 inet manual

auto vmbr0
iface vmbr0 inet static
        bridge_ports none
        bridge_stp off
        bridge_fd 0
mk@proxmox:~$