Backup and ISO on a RAIDZ

.n3

Mar 19, 2023
Hey,

I'm new to proxmox and I have a 80GB HDD for Proxmox, a 1TB SSD for VMs and a RAIDZ as storage for NexCloud and other stuff. In my first try I create a RAIDZ, but I can only store disk images and container. I found a solution where you create the RAIDZ but do not add it to the storage.

1681326895623.png

After that you use

Code:
zfs create tank/backups
zfs create tank/isos
zfs create tank/vm-drives

After that I can add the dataset as directory to proxmox and use my RAIDZ for Backups, Images and VMs.

Is this the correct solution? I read, that this is not recommend for production, but I use it for my homelab. As far as I know it is not recommend because of the backups. Is it right, or are there more disadvantages? I planed to make a local backup and move it then to a OpenMediaVault NAS.

a 1TB SSD for VMs and a RAIDZ as storage
One disk? How should that work with RAIDz, which needs at least 3 disks.

Is this the correct solution?
yes

I read, that this is not recommend for production, but I use it for my homelab. As far as I know it is not recommend because of the backups. Is it right, or are there more disadvantages? I planed to make a local backup and move it then to a OpenMediaVault NAS.
Why don't you just create the backups on your NAS?

One disk? How should that work with RAIDz, which needs at least 3 disks.
Sorry for the missunderstanding. I want the following setup:
  • 2x 80GB SATA SSD as RADI1 for proxmox installation
  • 1x 1TB M.2 SDD for vms and container
  • 5x 4TB SATA HDD as RAIDZ1 for storage
    • data tank for NextCloud
    • data tank for Frigate (Videos from security cameras)
    • data tank for isos, backups and templates
If I understand it correct, I can add further directorys to the RAIDZ1 if needed.

Why don't you just create the backups on your NAS?