Auto Shutdown

eizo114

Jun 15, 2022
Hello everyone, I apologize immediately for creating this post, but I am a windows systems engineer, and I have been using proxmox for a short time, I do not know linux and I do not know in any way how to move, after these premises I propose my question, someone can you explain me step by step how to shut down my proxmox node? I have no problem having the virtual machines shut down before the node shuts down, but I just need to figure out how to set prox mox to shut down by itself every day at a certain time, anyone who will be kind enough to help me will be welcome.
Thanks in advance

hi,
propose my question, someone can you explain me step by step how to shut down my proxmox node? I have no problem having the virtual machines shut down before the node shuts down, but I just need to figure out how to set prox mox to shut down by itself every day at a certain time,
to shutdown your node, just run the poweroff command as root user over an SSH connection.

in order to make it scheduled, you can create a cron job like this inside /etc/cron.d/poweroff:
Code:
00 18 * * * root poweroff

the example above would poweroff your node every day at 18:00

hope this helps!

I tried to follow the explanation and I used putty but something is wrong.
I apologize again but what may seem simple and automatic to a Linux user is not to me. I need to know step by step what to do. I don't expect anyone to have patience, but if someone understands my difficulty and wants to help me, I'm here. Thank you

Attachments

• 2022-06-15 13_52_34-Window.png
    2022-06-15 13_52_34-Window.png
    19.2 KB · Views: 136
you need to create a file /etc/cron.d/poweroff with the contents inside the code block on my previous post.

in your screenshot i see "00 24" so i assume you'd like to run it at midnight, though it should be instead 00 00 * * * in that case :)

you could also execute this command to put the file in there:
Code: