Any Proxmox Ceph Users Interested in helping test Benji

adamb

Famous Member
Mar 1, 2012
Hoping this doesn't cause any issues as far as the rules go.

I have been testing this for well over 6 months now and its been really solid for a Ceph backup solution.

https://github.com/elemental-lf/benji

I backup my ceph rbd volumes every night via benji and the overall space usage is still only equal to one copy. The deduplication and compression aspects are awsome.

Only issue is it needs more testers! Easily one of the best backup solutions I have worked with to date! Can't wait to see it go stable. Good news is its a fork of backy2 which has a pretty good following. However Benji has some great enhancements to make it shine.

I was hoping the proxmox community might help bring Benji to a stable release. Anyone interested in testing?

I've been running this about 4 months now and it really has been great. I setup the destination to use Ceph's rados gateway (S3 compatible) with 256 bit AES encryption and compression. Duplication and backing up source RBD images using fast-diff (now possible with recent Ceph kernel module changes) makes it super fast and efficient. I get about 500MiB/s on deltas to an erasure coded hdd pool.

The ability to mount backup images using nbd and then mount the file systems for selective recovery is super useful and one can easily amend a VM to reference the resulting block device without first having to restore the entire image.

Hi, I have looked at this some months ago, it was looking great.

But for our ceph proxmox backups, we have implemented our own solution, as we want to have a ceph storage as backup storage. (ceph->ceph backup), as It's really easier to keep snapshot history on backup storage without need to merge/compare diff backup, we simply import delta rbd.
we also need to possibility to restore files from the backup snapshot fast.
and we also needed proxmox api integration (for agent fsfreeze before snapshot)