alienvault ossim

akanarya

Dec 18, 2020
Hi,

I installed alienvault ossim on my proxmox cluster as a siem solution of my network.
Infact I guess this question can be more related with ossim itself than proxmox, but
i would like to know your experience.

Running proxmox machine has 2x4-core xeon e5410 with 16gb ram.
Ossim uses 3 cores of host cpu, because of ssse3 requirement of ossim and 7gb of ram.
On the same machine there is only one guest running additionally, which is a relatively lightweigth pihole/isc-dhcp server,
and it has a cpu load of almost none.

Ossim guest is consuming 100% cpu of 3 cores almost all time, i see python processes are taking all.
I know my server has obsolote cpus according to day but i saw that it can handle a lot of things before.
Ossim installation is new and I didnt bind any data source to ossim, just itself.
I did all updates and upgrades of ossim and to proxmox too.

I didnt try ossim on a dedicated machine so i have no experience what it will do on a standalone server.
What are your thoughts or experiences if you had about this max cpu usage ?
I learned that siem product is a kind of complex, relatively heavy solution but i havent load it now other than its default settings by now.
Can the problem be running in a virtual machine?

Thanks

Had a bit of experience with ossim a rather long time ago (so it might not be too accurate anymore).
ossim was rather heavyweight in general and was using quite a lot of ressources (even without doing too much in terms of NIDS, SIEM,...).
However back then the load was mostly from mysql and related parts of the stack.
also python-processes running at 100% CPU at all time - might indicate a misconfiguration on the deployment (or a bug in ossim)

As a general suggestion - check the logs inside the ossim VM - maybe the python processes write there what they are doing.

But asking in the ossim support-channels might yield a more accurate answer

I hope this helps!