Adding Management Interface LAN side

foxhotel

Jul 4, 2024
Let's start with I am not good at this. This grew from 3d printing and cnc control and I'm at the edge of my nerdery but it's working.

That said -- I have up and working proxmox w/ opensense and a few computers sitting on a lan together all working well. its a passthrough ip from my ISP to the box, proxmox on it, opensense on it. vtnet0 is my wan, vtnet1 is my lan to a tplink smart switch. pretty simple. everything works. well.

however. i remote a lot. i use wireguard (which is working great -- i am on my entire lan when i'm gone -- perfect). however. i cannot get to my proxmox webui instance from my lan, it only has an ip on the "wan" side (the at&t network of the router they provide that the whole family is on). I have a native ethernet nic and 2xusb nic's. they all work fine. Right now i'm only using the native eth and one of the usb dongles (native is "in from the wan w/ ip passthrough" and the usb one feeds my lan).

is there a way to have proxmox UI access from the lan side? either exclusively or in conjunction w/ the wan access point? i can use this third usb nic if required? is this called management access when you guys talk about it?

attached is my interfaces file. my att lan is 192.168.1.x/24 and my lab lan is 192.168.2.x/22. i have all 3 nics bridged and passed to opensense but i don't "see" the third nic on the lab lan side in opensense (not sure why ... but when i try to fix it things break hard).

i'm really hoping for a simple answer. i have blown up my network three times now trying to do this (nope, not sure why, but i now know how to backup opensense like a boss). i'm not trying to make a universal network to take over the universe, i'm just trying to arrange my network to help my physical workflow in fabrication. thanks in advance, i've read a whole lot on here and w/o this forum I wouldn't have gotten this far!

1720064318145.png

Last edited: