Add disk and create ZFS Mirror?

Aug 24, 2021
Hi,
I am new to Proxmox and very impressed so far.

I want to upgrade my machine- it currently has a 2TB Intel NVMe disk with everything on it.

Goal- add a second 2TB Intel NVMe disk as a mirror without having to wipe and re-install

I don't really care that much if I have to wipe and rebuild, but I'm trying to learn more about disk management and I'm finding the docs a bit difficult to parse into usable info

Happy to read links, docs, whatever you've got

I guess a reinstall would be the easiest way for you if yo dont care about wipe and rebuild. You can select ZFS Mirror on Install under Advanced Options, make sure you put in the right size for your disks.

1629877548565.png1629877562721.png

I guess your having an ext4 install not a zfs single disk setup right?

A untestet other way might be to create a zfs single disk (via GUI). move content to that disk and then add the old disk via cli to make it a mirror: https://coderwall.com/p/zpb89a/creating-a-mirrored-zfs-pool-out-of-a-single-disk-rpool

Last edited:
In addition to what @jsterr said - should you have installed PVE on ZFS (single disk/RAID0) you can follow the reference documentation for creating the correct partitions on the new NVMe :
https://pve.proxmox.com/pve-docs/chapter-sysadmin.html#_zfs_administration (Changing a failed bootable device)

and then attach the correct partition to the pool (as linked by @jsterr)

In any case - make sure you have a working backup, if you care about the data!

Reactions: aconnor
Proxmox also only needs around 16GB of storage. If you got some old 120/240 GB SSD laying around and free slots in your case you could install PVE to these and use the NVMes as a storage for VMs only. That way you can easily wipe the VM pool, restore VMs/LXCs from backups without needing to install and setup your PVE again.

this is awesome, thanks for your help!