Accidentally took down the panel

ciarandwi

Aug 22, 2024
I'm just a developer who has no experience of Networking.

We had some issues with a server (Server 4) and it would quite frequently go down. The server was moved but then Server 2 couldn't communicate with Server 4 anymore.

After doing some looking into it and talking to another person who's quite smart and has his own business, he was trying to help me debug the situation and sent me a command of 'ifdown vmbr1' 'ifup vmbr1' to be ran on Server 4 however, I accidentally ran this on Server 2 and now Server 2 is not SSHable nor the panel link doesn't work.

From my understanding, ifup sets the default interface so the 8006 panel link doesn't work.

I can boot the server into rescue mode but i'm a little confused as to what I can do get my containers back.

ifdown/-up are just runtime cmd's and don't do config permanent changes. If you don't have TFT,keyboard+mouse at server just reboot them both first when it's comfortable for your running vm's etc for now.

ifdown/-up are just runtime cmd's and don't do config permanent changes. If you don't have TFT,keyboard+mouse at server just reboot them both first when it's comfortable for your running vm's etc for now.
This still wouldn't explain the fact the :8006 url would be down nor it not being SSHable. It just happened as soon as I ran the command and then all of our websites went down with a Cloudflare error page.

I've rebooted the server in normal mode and the page :8006 page still isn't up

I've been talking to Scaleway (server people) and they can't figure it out. I'm about to go on a call with somebody who knows a lot more about systems than I do so i'm hoping they they can resolve this issue.

I appreciate your input