8.2-2 Fresh Install

sexyjeep

Oct 13, 2024
Hello,

I just tried to install the latest version of Proxmox on my home host and immediately receive a "out of memory" error as soon as I select either the (Graphical) or (Terminal UI) versions. When I press any key to continue, the entire machine locks up and I am forced to hard power off the machine and back on again.

I have been using this machine on and off for the past 2 months (new build) and have ran Ubuntu Live and Windows 10 Pro on it and everything has worked without issues. I have the latest firmware for all the hardware in this machine as well as having loaded all the defaults to the BIOS while ensuring that CSM is disabled and Virtualization is enabled.

My hardware is as follows:

Motherboard: ASUS z790 Hero
Processor: 12th gen Intel Core i-9-12900KS
Memory: Corsair Vengeance DDR5 64GB (4x16GB) 5600MHz
Storage: x2 512GB SATA Samsung 980 Pro SSD's, x1 1TB M.2 Samsung 970 Pro, x3 2TB M.2 Samsung 970 EVO's

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance!

Jeepy

First suspicion: your installation media is damaged. Recreate it, using another usb stick.

Second: in the installation menu you'll find "Advanced Options: Test Memory (memtest86+)". Run it. Overnight = at least several hours, or two full cycles.

Good luck!

Def not the usb nor memory as the issue, but I can appreciate the suggestion. Been using this machine for 4 months with Windows and Linux on the bare metal - no issues. The USB drive I use, I've deployed all the previous OS' with, as well as just having loaded VMware on it since Proxmox won't install.