Cap10

Jun 3, 2022
I'm new to Proxmox, not new to Linux or VMs.

Any time I start a new VM now, it freezes during the initial setup and Proxmox shows "Status: io-error". I only have a single LXC container and a single Ubuntu VM running right now. They definitely are not using the node's entire disk drive space, or CPU or RAM.

I saw somewhere online it could be due to the LVM being full. When looking at the node I see this

but honestly I can't tell if that means I have the entirety of the disk reserved for Proxmox or the whole thing is in use. Looking at the node's local storage and local-lvm storage, they both show only about 4% usage.

My only guess is it has something to do with VMs I have built and later removed through Proxmox. Maybe I didn't remove their storage properly so there's no more room on the disk for a new VM? I really have no clue, taking a shot in the dark.

What can I be looking for and what more info can I provide to help find this issue?

Hi, i'm also new to proxmox, i got the same problem with one of my VMs (Pop!_OS).
This VM can't boot properly, the same VM was all okay last sunday. Today when i got updates for my Proxmox host i wasn't able to boot the VM.
I personally think that one of these updates is to blame for it.

One of these updates was for the LVM if i'm correct.

edit:
Just tried to create a new Linux (MX) VM and got an IO error again, but my Win 10 VM can boot normal, difference between this 3 VMs is just UEFI support (OVMF for Linux VMs ) / the Windows VM (SeaBios)

Last edited:
I don't think I've updated Proxmox since setting it up. One of the VMs is ubuntu-live-server-amd64, and so is the new VM I'm trying to create.

Are you trying to say that a Proxmox update has just broken the ability to make VMs with one of the most common ISOs? Wouldn't that just be breaking the entire function of Proxmox in the first place? There's no way they'd push an update like that.