ZFS on 4x2TB post install

Adnan

Oct 4, 2012
Paris, France
I have a server at SoYouStart (OVH), and I don't have access to the installation, according to the support, even through the KVM IP, I won't have access. And I'm a ZFS noob.

So, I have 4x2TB. I must have /, swap and /var/lib/vz, I can choose whatever size I want for them, I can install them only on the first disk or in softRAID 1, 5, 10. With 4 HDD it would be great to use RAIDz1, 1 disk fault tolerance but I'm planning on having a second server for backups and FS synchronisation, so I think the chances of having 2 HDD failing at the same time and me having no backups is negligible.

Is there a way to use the 4 HDD to make a RAIDz1 with proxmox (post install) or as the OS is installed on the first HDD, I can only use the 3 others?

Raidz is not recommended for VM images, you should go for a striped mirror (aka raid10). So they install proxmox for you? Why can't they choose zfs raid10?

Raidz is not recommended for VM images, you should go for a striped mirror (aka raid10). So they install proxmox for you? Why can't they choose zfs raid10?
Please explain why Raidz isn't recommended for VM images, Proxmox' wiki doesn't state anything about it (or I didn't see it yet).

Regarding installation, you choose your distribution, you "make" your HDD layout on their HTML page, and you click "install". They do an unattended install and you receive an email when it's done. As their web page is standard for all distribution, I can't choose ZFS so they can't install it "automatically"

I see. Although I haven't read anything about setting up zfs after installation, I guess this is rather complicated because you have to play around with initramfs. But maybe someone else has a guide for that.

Raidz is not recommended because of the parity calculations slowing down your small IOPS of spinning disks even more.
See the performance section of the documentation.