Windows VM time not updated after hibernate/resume

JamesA

Jun 5, 2022
I am new to Proxmox. Just moved over from Hyper-V to PVE for all the features!

One thing I have noticed is that if I hibernate my Windows VMs, when they next resume they have the time from when I hibernated them and it’s not updated. I have to restart the windows time service then the VMs update their time.

I have QEMU agent enabled and the latest guest tools installed. Does the agent not update the time after a hibernate/resume like Hyper-v did? Or am I missing something?

Thanks!

Just to add this is a test home lab, hence the hibernating of machines as host is powered off each day. Maybe not production real world..

Can’t believe I am having to do this.. but this is the workaround I used because VM cannot update BIOS time after hibernate / resume.

1) Set my domain controller to update their time source from time.windows.com. If you have multiple DC make sure you only do on the PDC.

2) Created a GPO which has a scheduled task that runs on every domain server that updates the time every 5 mins. This task runs indefinitely. This means when the VM resumes it only has to wait max of 5 mins before updating the time. The schedule task just runs this:

w32tm /resync

I would love to know if anyone else has done any better ideas?

@proxmox any plans to update VM time? I think hyper V does this using their time sync service.

So I had a look into this today but no luck!

When you hibernate and then start the VM in Proxmox there are no windows events shown. The VM seems to think that nothing has happened..

I think this is going to need someone to create a time sync service that can check with the hypervisor somehow like how Hyper-V works maybe..

Ah thanks for checking. Most my VMs are windows, few Linux. What a shame Proxmox don’t have something to do this. :-( be a great feature request maybe..

Ok great a year old :) won’t hold my breath on that one then ha ha.