MichaelBernasconi

Dec 3, 2023
I just finished migrating my Windows 11 gaming VM from Unraid to Proxmox. Along the way I encountered some obstacles. To hopefully save other people some time I'm writing a detailed guide here on how I set up my system.

Disclaimer: I am by no means an expert on this stuff. It is entirely possible that I made some mistakes in this setup. If you notice something that is clearly wrong or something that could be improved please add your suggestions in the comments.

ProxmoxVE Version
I am writing this guide using ProxmoxVE version 8.1.3.

Hardware
This guide works for the following hardware:
CPU: Ryzen 7950x​
Mainboard: Gigabyte X670 Gaming X AX​
GPU1: RTX A6000 (in main PCIe slot and not used for the Windows VM)​
GPU2: RTX 3070 (in second PCIe slot and used for the Window VM)​
Note: You have enable a bunch of virtualization options in the BIOS. Essentially enable everything setting that has "virtualization", "VT", or "IOMMU" in the name.

Checking IOMMU Groups
The first step is checking your IOMMU groups. Open a shell and run pvesh get /nodes/{nodename}/hardware/pci --pci-class-blacklist "". Here, {nodename} refers to the name you gave to your proxmox server. This should give you a list of all your PCIe devices which their respective IOMMU group. Find the GPU you want to pass to your VM and check if there are any other devices in the same IOMMU group. If there are no other devices in the same IOMMU group you can skip the next step.

Splitting IOMMU Groups
Disclaimer: Splitting your IOMMU groups has some security implications! Please read up on it and decide if this is acceptable for your use case! Don't just blindly follow what some guy wrote on the internet!

So...your GPU was not in it's own IOMMU group. This can be fixed by adding pcie_acs_override=downstream,multifunction to the kernel parameters.