Windows 11 guest - performance benchmarks?

Oct 31, 2022
I'm new to Proxmox and wondering if there is any performance benchmark repository available. I've configured a Windows 11 VM with the configuration parameters as shown below on a Proxmox Host with AMD Ryzen 7 5800X 8-Core CPU and two Nvme PCI Samsung 980 Pro 2TB (ZFS mirrored), VirtIO SCSI/cache=writeback. 10Gbe Asus XG-C100F Network Card.

It seems to me, I get reasonable Disk I/O & network throughput results, but I'm not sure if I am on the right direction with the settings or if there are any other recommendations (see attached crystaldiskmark & speedtest ookia results).

Host parameters:
1667204482451.png

Windows 11 VM-Config:
1667204525987.png

CrytalDisMark Results:
1667204563911.png

Network Results Speedtest Ookia (Win App version):
1667204614347.png

Attachments

• 1667204475320.png
    1667204475320.png
    12.9 KB · Views: 2
I dont see anywhere near your what you have. Does the zfs mirror vs nvme qcow2 make that much difference ?

1667211996220.png

1667212085760.png

Attachments

• 1667212067980.png
    1667212067980.png
    33.8 KB · Views: 0
Most GUI tools like are quite useless. CrystalDiskMark for example will only do async writes, so you are only benchmarking your RAM and caches and not your actual disks. Fio would be way better but only CLI and you need to know what you are doing to get useful results.
Speedtest is also not great for benchmarking network performance. Better would be iperf3, but again: only CLI and you need to know how to use it the right way to get useful results.

Do some really hard fio tests and you will see that under specific workloads your disk performance will drop into the single digit MB/s or even into the KB/s range. So 8126 MB/s write performance sounds great, but the same setup might drop to below 1 MB/s when writing some hundreds GBs of 4K random sync writes.
It always depends on your workload and what you want to measure.

Last edited: