Where is my SSD space going?

Istria

Jan 3, 2022
Hello all,

I'm new to proxmox and to hypervisors in general.
I have a HP T630 Thin Client (4x2GHz + 4GB DDR4 + 32GB SSD) that I installed proxmox on.

I'm wondering where I am losing my precious GBs along the way:

- During install, I chose a maxroot of 6GB and 2GB for swap. It showed a 29GB disk.
- I created 2 VM's: Home Assistant OS and Openmediavault. Have not used them yet. Fresh install + updates.
- Under Disks/LVM, I see my partition /dev/sda3 with 31.5GB. It says 88% full with 3.9GB free.
- Under LVM-Thin, I see 1 partition/volume of 16,9GB that is available for my VMs.
- Under "local", it says 2,9GB/6,25GB used.
- Under "local-lvm", it says 13GB/16,9GB used.

6,25GB root + 2GB swap + 16,9GB LVM-Thin = 25,15GB. Where did the remaining 6,5GB go?

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:
hi,

please check the outputs from:
Code:
df -h
lsblk -f

Here are the outputs. Thanks for the help.

EDIT: Output is in my next post below.

Last edited:
could you paste it here in [code][/code] tags for better visibility?

Code:
root@proxmox:~# df -h
Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
udev                  1.8G     0  1.8G   0% /dev
tmpfs                 364M  1.1M  363M   1% /run
/dev/mapper/pve-root  5.9G  3.3G  2.3G  60% /

Code:
root@proxmox:~# lsblk -f
NAME FSTYPE FSVER LABEL UUID
FSAVAIL FSUSE% MOUNTPOINT
sda

├─sda1
│

├─sda2
│    vfat   FAT32       FEC9-FE11

└─sda3
     LVM2_m LVM2        hgBVip-H3EW-EWDK-erOP-dQSt-s3eO-yhtcHQ

├─pve-swap
  │  swap   1           89a7ad6f-9397-4d6b-9196-9484ad3246ca
               [SWAP]
  ├─pve-root
  │  ext4   1.0         7afd39ef-6c62-461b-a975-cc7e311560b4
   2.3G    56% /
  ├─pve-data_tmeta
  │

│ └─pve-data-tpool
  │

│   ├─pve-data
  │   │

│   ├─pve-vm--101--disk--1
  │   │

│   ├─pve-vm--101--disk--2
  │   │

│   ├─pve-vm--102--disk--0
  │   │

│   ├─pve-vm--102--disk--1
  │   │

│   └─pve-vm--105--disk--0
  │

└─pve-data_tdata

└─pve-data-tpool

├─pve-data