[SOLVED] VM second disk initialization problem

ChristopherG

Oct 26, 2018
Hi guys,

I'm a beginner and I have a hope that someone has encountered a similar problem and can share a solution or advice. I will be grateful for any advice because I'm stuck and I have no more ideas what I can do.

I have a VMDK file which I converted and imported (as a .raw) to Proxmox VE 5.2 without any bigger issues. This image/file includes a database server based on Ubuntu 14.4 which require additional disk for the database. For some reason, that VM is not able to initialize/mount attached as a second the DATA_DISK under the first run procedure and halt entire VM. I tried a few different things as a different setting for BUS/Device, storage pool, disk format etc. but VM still can't initialize/mount attached DATA_DISK or formatting it by mkfs. Because the system doesn't boot from SCSI I have to use IDE. It is an on-premise solution and I don't have a root access there. The recovery boot option doesn't help me too. The solution was designed for VMware ESXi and all manuals based on this virtualization platform.

Configuration file:
root@vms1:~# cat /etc/pve/local/qemu-server/111.conf
boot: cdn
bootdisk: ide0
cores: 2
ide0: SSD-pool_vm:vm-111-disk-0,size=20G
ide2: none,media=cdrom
memory: 2048
name: DB-InControl
net0: e1000=B6:07:C5:75:5E:58,bridge=vmbr3
net1: e1000=CA:28:70:80:8A:00,bridge=vmbr0
numa: 0
ostype: l26
scsi0: SSD-pool_vm:vm-111-disk-1,size=10G
scsihw: virtio-scsi-pci
smbios1: uuid=8802e53b-8cae-4743-bfc2-384997811c43
sockets: 2
vmgenid: 67ca8e37-ec5a-4476-bbd7-eea1b56e45fb

upload_2018-11-11_22-4-53.png

Thank you in advance.
Christopher