VM resetting after every 6 minutes

rbhalla

Mar 4, 2022
Hi All,

Proxmox novice here. I have been running proxmox for some time without issues. I upgraded it to Virtual Environment 7.4-3 recently.

One particulat VM with ID 100 keeps resetting after every 6 minutes. IF i manually stop it, Proxmoc keeps starting it automatically as well. I am not sure where to look to stop this from happening. All other VM's and LXC containers dont have this issue. I have restored the VM from a backup but the issue still exists

Hi,
maybe some script is triggering the resets via API? You can check in /var/log/pveproxy/access.log to see where it comes from if it comes from outside, e.g.
Code:
::ffff:192.168.16.20 - root@pam [11/05/2023:09:30:23 +0200] "POST /api2/extjs/nodes/pve701/qemu/101/status/reset HTTP/1.1" 200 83

Otherwise, you should check your cron scripts and systemd units started by timers.

I checked the access.log. The reset happened at 10:28:32 but i dont see any any /status/reset POST logs. i only see GET ones, which should not be the cause, right?
1683797678716.png

In the Proxmox Syslog, i do see this though:
May 11 10:28:32 proxmox qm[3774994]: <root@pam> starting task UPID: proxmox:00399A17:014B7375:645CB540:qmreset:100:root@pam:
May 11 10:28:32 proxmox qm[3774994]: <root@pam> end task UPID: proxmox:00399A17:014B7375:645CB540:qmreset:100:root@pam: OK

Last edited:
I checked the access.log. The reset happened at 10:28:32 but i dont see any any /status/reset POST logs. i only see GET ones, which should not be the cause, right?
View attachment 50268

In the Proxmox Syslog, i do see this though:
May 11 10:28:32 proxmox qm[3774994]: <root@pam> starting task UPID: proxmox:00399A17:014B7375:645CB540:qmreset:100:root@pam:
May 11 10:28:32 proxmox qm[3774994]: <root@pam> end task UPID: proxmox:00399A17:014B7375:645CB540:qmreset:100:root@pam: OK
anybody hve any ideas ?