Urgent question re vlan setup

blackpaw

Renowned Member
Nov 1, 2013
We run all our windows dev, test and production servers on our proxmox servers, weekly onsite DR backups and monthly offsite DR backups.

And we just got hammered with a root kit virus that is proving extremely difficult to remove.

I'm proposing that we restore one by one from last month DR backups to a vlan tag of 1, check thats its clear, then change it to a vlan tag of 2.

As you may have guessed, I'm a complete novice when it comes to stuff like vlans.

- Is it sufficient to just set the vlan for a VM via the proxmox network device gui?

- will that isolate it from the main (infected) network?

- can I keep the same subnet? (192.168.5.0)

- Will the VM's be able to access the outside internet?

Thanks.

A VLAN usually indicates separate subnets, but if you have no routing in place to confuse the networks, then you should be fine with using the same subnet on another VLAN

How did you find out that you had a virus? What were the symptoms? What tools did you use to investigate/clean?
which virus was it?

- Is it sufficient to just set the vlan for a VM via the proxmox network device gui?
yes

- will that isolate it from the main (infected) network?
yes

- can I keep the same subnet? (192.168.5.0)
- Will the VM's be able to access the outside internet?
you can keep the same subnet, but you need a gateway in the same vlan/subnet.

How did you find out that you had a virus? What were the symptoms? What tools did you use to investigate/clean?
which virus was it?

Weird crap on our intranet. The big give away was when every mp3 file on my pc was replaced with a executable - <Name>.mp3.exe :) There was a possible sapm bot on our net too.

Tools - we used Windows Defendor offline, Malware bytes, AVG, RougeKiller, eset, rkill, ComboFix, adwcleaner and jrt. I think they mostly identified the same virus under different names - Win32/Nabucur.gen!A, Win/Cryptor, Trojan.Agent.MSDGen, Win32/Injector.BQEU.