Unable to install - upgrade Dell R620

Loxion

Feb 9, 2024
Hi All

I have a Dell R620 that I have been using as a proxmox node for about a month without any issues. it was a 4 bay server so I wanted to upgrade it to 8 bay, so did some research and identified what appeared to be a solution.

As such, I have replaced the backplane with an 8 bay and installed a PERC H310 PCI-e RAID controller in order to manage the now 8 ports. In Setup I can see all the drives, RAID controller all appears OK (no issues or errors reported), I can create virtual drives no problem so the hardware appears to be functioning OK.

However, when trying to do a fresh install of Proxmox it keeps hanging at 3% (creating LVs) and if I leave it long enough (hours) it will eventually fail with the following error:

"fileparse(): need a valid pathname at /usr/share/perl5/Proxmox/Sys/Block.pm line 50."

Can anyone point me in the right direction to assist with fault finding, I am not an expert by any means :)

I am installing on an SSD that was working fine with Proxmox previously in that server. I have also deleted the partition and reformatted the drive so hopefully any old install shouldnt be an issue.

I was using a SSD as primary install, a 1Tb SATA for VM data and that was working fine before.

My assumption is that it has to be related to the RAID Controller or Backplane, but I am not sure what to look for as it it all appears to be working (at the hardware level) and I don't understand the error.

Any help, direction or info greatly recieved.

Thanks