unable to connect to internet

harish1500

Apr 25, 2023
hey i am very new to proxmox and i was try to install it in my old laptop but i am unable to connect it to the internet, i have connected my laptop with either net cable but still does not connect to internet when i try

Code:
ping 8.8.8.8
it shows
ping: connect: Network is unreachable

can someone help me out with this

Hi,

Can you please post the network configuration `cat /etc/network/interfaces` and the output of `ip a`?

The IP address of your Proxmox is not in the same subnet as the gateway. Is that intended? It looks like vmbr0 is not started, which I cannot explain. Does eno1 have a cable connected to it? Proxmox does not support WiFi; you'll have to set it up yourself (and it has limitations).

And there is also a typo in the gateway. I would guess that should mean "192.168.1.1" and not "92.168.1.1".

Last edited:
hey thanks for your replay, i am pretty new to all this i do not know what a subnet is, and i have connected it via ethernet cable and i won't be using wifi

hey thanks for your replay, i am pretty new to all this i do not know what a subnet is, and i have connected it via ethernet cable and i won't be using wifi
Is 92.168.1.1 really the IP address of your router? Maybe it is 192.168.1.1, which is much more common? You probably need to give your Proxmox an IP address that also starts with 192.168.1. (like 192.168.1.2 instead of 192.168.100.1) to make sure your router can route it to the internet.

i do not know what a subnet is
I don't want to offend you, but then I would recommend learning the network and Linux administration basics first. Otherwise that is like not knowing what a turn indicator is but trying to drive a car. Will be very frustrating, you might lose data that is important to you and you maybe even put yourself or other people at a risk when connecting your server to the internet.