Ubuntu VM does not have an @IP

Juliet

Oct 24, 2023
Hi,
I have create a template (I have enabled DHCP in cloud-init) here's the conf :
1698915289572.png

from this template I crated a VM, but when I type ip a cmd to see the @ip, i do not see it :
1698915377986.png
this is what I see, Could you tell me why please ?

thanks

Do you have the right vmbX running? with connect to the "world".

And there is a dhcpd on a router or a LXC, VM running?

Do you have the right vmbX running? with connect to the "world".

thanks for coming back, actually I'm new to PVE, I have just intalled this morning and I followed a tutorial to create a template then VM, I followed the same instruction, but for my case I do not see the @ip.

=> it is a brand new PVE, I do not think I have this

I have only the VM whicj I create it

=> it is a brand new PVE, I do not think I have this

I have only the VM whicj I create it
Then you need to give it an IP address (in your local subnet) using the method that is appropriate for the operating system inside the VM.
Proxmox does not provide IP addresses; this is the job of a DHCP server (like a router) on your local network.
If you used cloud-init to set the VM to DHCP, then you need to provide a DHCP server one way or another.

Then you need to give it an IP address (in your local subnet) using the method that is appropriate for the operating system inside the VM.
Proxmox does not provide IP addresses; this is the job of a DHCP server (like a router) on your local network.
If you used cloud-init to set the VM to DHCP, then you need to provide a DHCP server one way or another.
thnaks for coming back,
then you need to provide a DHCP server one way or another.
=> how to provide DHCP server, ?

Any way you like. There are many ways. I just use the one built-in the router of my local network.
I mean I have to do something (conf) at the GUI level to provide DHCP server ? I 'm new to things like this .
if you could help please.