Turnkey File Server RAM and CPU usage constantly increasing

chris2000

Mar 4, 2024
Hello,

Newbie here. I added the above container as NAS to store mainly recordings from 12 cameras and a couple of daily backups. I'm wondering if it's normal that the RAM usage is slowly increasing to capacity or if there is anything wrong. Same for the CPU, although the percentage is still low:
1709551363226.png

The RAM usage info looks like this:
1709551341311.png

Is this expected?

Thanks a lot

More than likely it's caching. If the fileserver is heavily used, you should maybe give it more resources.
Try bumping it to 768MB RAM or 1Gig

Is the container ingesting the recordings from (12) cameras in realtime??

You don't need to worry about CPU usage unless it's using 80%+ all the time, or file copies start slowing down. In that case I would give it 2xCPU (and maybe check for a runaway process)

More than likely it's caching. If the fileserver is heavily used, you should maybe give it more resources.
Try bumping it to 768MB RAM or 1Gig

Is the container ingesting the recordings from (12) cameras in realtime??

You don't need to worry about CPU usage unless it's using 80%+ all the time, or file copies start slowing down. In that case I would give it 2xCPU (and maybe check for a runaway process)

Ok, thanks. What happens if the RAM becomes full?

Well, the 12 cameras go through Frigate, which determines what needs to be recorded. So it's highly unlikely that all 12 are recording at the same time... I'd say 4-5 max.

Ok, thanks. What happens if the RAM becomes full?

Well, the 12 cameras go through Frigate, which determines what needs to be recorded. So it's highly unlikely that all 12 are recording at the same time... I'd say 4-5 max.

> What happens if the RAM becomes full?