TrueNAS on Proxmox - is passthrough to HDs needed?

icdit

Sep 26, 2023
Hi. I'm new to Proxmox and this is my first post. I'm considering virtualizing TrueNAS Scale in Proxmox. But, one thing I don't understand is whether passing through harddrives for TrueNAS to use is needed or if using the ZFS drive setup that I have already with Proxmox can be used, thus TrueNAS would use a virtual hard drive. If the drives in Proxmox are setup with a ZFS RAID and TrueNAS uses a single virtual disk that resides on this, wouldn't that be alright? Or, is there something I'm missing?

Hi. I'm new to Proxmox and this is my first post. I'm considering virtualizing TrueNAS Scale in Proxmox. But, one thing I don't understand is whether passing through harddrives for TrueNAS to use is needed or if using the ZFS drive setup that I have already with Proxmox can be used, thus TrueNAS would use a virtual hard drive. If the drives in Proxmox are setup with a ZFS RAID and TrueNAS uses a single virtual disk that resides on this, wouldn't that be alright? Or, is there something I'm missing?
Will work but ZFS got terrible overhead and overhead is multiplying and not just adding up. So ZFS on top of ZFS is a bad idea and I personally wouldn't do that. Would only make sense if you want to migrate that VM between nodes where you wouldn't want to have hardware dependencies.
Otherwise I would get a dedicated HBA + dedicated disks just for TrueNAS and PCI passthrough [1] the whole HBA with all disks attached to it. Or if an HBA + PCI passthrough isn't an option at least dedicated disks with disk passthrough [2].

[1]: https://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/PCI_Passthrough
[2]: https://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/Passthrough_Physical_Disk_to_Virtual_Machine_(VM)

Last edited:
Thank you. That makes sense.

When "only" using disk passthrough instead of HBA & PCI passthrough, is there still a significant performance overhead hit? That may be the way I will need to go.

Thank you. That makes sense.