Troubleshooting: /dev/mapper/pve-root fills up when uploading ISO's. Confused.

l0ktar

Mar 5, 2023
Hey there~!

I'm very new to any kind of virtual environment and actually got the server I'm running proxmox VE on from a friend for free. I've been running like 2-3 VMS at a time and just decided to spin up an AD lab on it for pentest practice.

While uploading the Kali iso I wanna use it stopped and game me some "error code '0'" but I figured out it was because /dev/mapper/pve-root keeps filling up when I'm uploading ISO's. I'm not sure if I have the drive and stuff setup right so this could just be because of terrible setup on my part. Don't judge too hard lol.

Attached all possibly relevant pics.

TL,DR: /dev/mapper/pve-root fills up when uploading ISO's. Porque?

Attachments

• help3.PNG
    help3.PNG
    43.1 KB · Views: 15
  • help2.PNG
    help2.PNG
    19.1 KB · Views: 13
  • help1.PNG
    help1.PNG
    33.2 KB · Views: 13
Hi,
TL,DR: /dev/mapper/pve-root fills up when uploading ISO's. Porque?
That's because uploads happen first to /var/tmp/pveupload-$RAND file first, there are some reason for this, but they aren't really that strong to justify having it hard-coded.
The biggest one would be that files can be uploaded to local storage of other nodes, so doing an intermediate copy makes it easier and also a bit more robust than streaming directly.

I think we can change this though, and be it only by making the base staging directory for uploads configurable, but we can probably do better and stream directly to other nodes or save the incoming upload directly to the target storage.

You could open an enhancement request over at https://bugzilla.proxmox.com/ for this, please include a link to this thread if you do so.

As workaround, you could make /var/tmp a mount (or symlink) on the filesystem that has more usable storage space.