Static IP / DHCP

sn1p3r

Apr 7, 2023
Hi guys,
I am new to Proxmox, and I am loving it. I am just wondering if I can still achieve a good Proxmox Virtualization with proper networking

8 x Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E3-1231 v3 @ 3.40GHz (1 Socket)
32gb RAM
2x 500 GB SSD
1x IPv4

This is a Hosting Dedicated Server (Old Server from a friend of mine [given to me now] that he bought from a VPS/DDS Provider)

What i want to achieve:
1. Have a private network with internet access
2. Have each new VM a IP from the private network (if possible)

What have i done:
1. Installed Promox 7.4.x
2. Can access the Proxmox via Static IP
3. Add pve-no-subscription
4. Tried to tinker with the vmbr1 (192.168.10.1/24)
5. No IP given to the VM
6. Set Static IP of VM still no internet

Some image of what I have done.

1680872236589.png

Let me know what I can do to make it work, or what I am doing wrong. Thank you in advanced!

Last edited:
First, you will need a DHCP server to hand out IPs.
Then you need to decide how you want to separate your VMs. If they should not have access to your internal network, you would need to encapsulate the VM network from the internal one all the way to your router.

You do have another physical port (eno2) configured for it. If your router can handle separate networks on different physical ports, you could connect it directly. The router might even be able to play DHCP server on that network.
You don't need to give the Proxmox VE server an IP address on vmbr1 if it should not be reachable in that network, for example to not expose the mgmt to the VMs.

If you don't have additional ports on your router, VLANs are your other options. But that means that you need to configure the VLAN on the Proxmox VE server and the router. If you have any switches in between, they need to be able to handle VLANs as well (usually called "managed" switches).

That would be the safest approach.