[SOLVED] IOMMU on an AMD FX-8530 CPU

xellos

Nov 19, 2022
Hello all,

I am pretty new to Proxmox and I want to utilize some old hardware I have laying around. Here is my setup:
- Motherboard: Asrock 970 Pro3
- CPU: AMD FX-8350
- RAM: 16Gb DDR3
- Storage: 250Gb Crucial SSD for Proxmox + Intel DS SSD 480 GB for VMs
- GPU: AMD RX 590 8Gb

My settings are as follows.

In my motherboard Bios:
-> IOMMU Enabled
-> Secure VM Enabled

In my Proxmox:
My grub file contains the line:
Code:
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet amd_iommu=on"
I also updated grub and I rebooted
Code:
update-grub
reboot

My problem:
When I check IOMMU, I see the following message, saying IOMMU is not available:
Code:
[    0.000000] Warning: PCIe ACS overrides enabled; This may allow non-IOMMU protected peer-to-peer DMA
[    0.147258] AGP: Please enable the IOMMU option in the BIOS setup
[    0.669896] pci 0000:00:00.2: AMD-Vi: Found IOMMU cap 0x40
[    3.774839] AMD-Vi: AMD IOMMUv2 functionality not available on this system - This is not a bug.

I don't know how to fix this, I tried adjusting the flags and updating the bios but nothing worked.
I also checked online and some folks on reddit have IOMMU working with the same motherboard, but posts are quite old so I got no replies from them.

I also noticed that the message says IOMMUv2 and not just IOMMU. So maybe my CPU is just too old for v2? Is there a way to tell proxmox to use v1 instead?

Any help would be really appreciated.
Thank you guys

Last edited:
Hi,
please try this [0] script from the ArchLinux wiki to see if your devices are mapped to IOMMU groups.

[0] https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/PCI_passthrough_via_OVMF#Ensuring_that_the_groups_are_valid
Thanks for the reply. They are, and actually I made some progress since my post and I even see the GPU in a Windows 10 VM.