Single Server Implementation?

gschiltz

Aug 31, 2014
I've only started with Proxmox (and Wasim's book), and I'd like an opinion. The book recommends as a minimum (if I correctly understand the diagram and discussion on page 27 of the PDF), two physical Proxmox nodes, a file server node, and a physical firewall (I suppose the file server and firewall could both be appliances and not full servers). That sounds to me like a lot of hardware if the goal is to virtualize stuff :)

I am in the planning stages for the IT needs of a very small medical clinic (I'm a retired software engineer, and only doing IT stuff as a favor since they can't afford to hire someone). My main reason for wanting to use Proxmox is for flexibility, i.e. try out various configurations without having to wipe out a physical server. We currently have an underutilized physical server (donated by HP). It has a quad core xeon processor, 32 GB of RAM, 2TB of RAID6 storage, and 2 NICs. What I would like to do is to use Zentyal in a VM mostly for Samba and OpenChange (groupware), PfSense or similar in a VM as a software firewall, maybe a separate VM for storage management, another VM to run the DB server... am I crazy to want to run all this on one physical server? I'm confident that the server is powerful enough to run it all, but just want to understand if Proxmox can be configured to facilitate it.

Whatever I do, I'm going to first model it on a VMware Fusion VM running Proxmox, with the individual components running as VMs nested within it (I've experimented with that before, and performance isn't as bad as I had expected).

Hi,
you can run all the stuff on one node of course. But you have multible SPOF (single point of failures) and aren't able to start an VM on another host if the host fail.
For the beginning it's ok, but the fun begin with an cluster and shared storage (live migrating and so on).