Simple node re-install creates chaos?

LiveFreeOrPi

Apr 20, 2024
I've been testing a simple two node cluster for a couple of months now, before considering a production deployment. I removed one node today and reloaded it with a new image, making tweaks to the previous disk partitions, design, etc. In any event, it has a new name, but the same IP address. What a mistake! The host key verification BUG is real. Shell access failed but was easy to repair, migrations fail hard.

So, fine, again, a test bed, so I'll simply change the IP address. Mistake number two! The GUI IP address change modifies /etc/network/interfaces, so why doesn't it change /etc/pve/corosync.conf? Why does the data center cluster insist on reflecting the old IP address? Where else to I have to hunt for config files to change?

This is from the documentation "Editing the corosync.conf file is not always very straightforward. There are two on each cluster node, one in /etc/pve/corosync.conf and the other in /etc/corosync/corosync.conf. Editing the one in our cluster file system will propagate the changes to the local one, but not vice versa."

I am super frustrated after down VMs and a rabbit hole of problems for what should be simple changes, so I apologize that my first post here is a bad user experience, but I just don't see how this software is "production ready". There seems to be a fairly robust community, but also a fair amount of open or long standing unresolved bugs https://bugzilla.proxmox.com/show_bug.cgi?id=4252

I am super frustrated

Yes, learning and handling complex systems can have a lot more pitfalls than one expects.

When I tried to run an alternative cluster-capable virtualizer (not the Elephant in the room) I had experienced similar problems.

There is no way around it, except... learning.

In any way: welcome to the club ;-)

For cluster sized system its hard to detect (and handle) a server os reinstall.