[SOLVED] Share ZFS Storage between Nodes

Denny32

Apr 9, 2024
Hi,

I am rather new to Proxmox and to an extent Linux.

I currently have a Cluster consisting of 2 Nodes. Both Servers have different sized Partitions. We use the larger Partition to store the VM's on. "zfs-pve01" and "zfs-pve02".
Now I want each host to have access to both zfs-storages to Migrate VM's seamlessly.
Both Storages are visible on each Host, but the "external" Storage is not active. In the Systemlog I get errors like:

Apr 09 13:35:22 proxmox1 pvestatd[1685]: zfs error: cannot open 'zfs-pve02': no such pool
Apr 09 13:35:22 proxmox1 pvedaemon[1707462]: zfs error: cannot open 'zfs-pve02': no such pool
Apr 09 13:35:22 proxmox1 pvedaemon[1707462]: could not activate storage 'zfs-pve02', zfs error: cannot import 'zfs-pve02': no such pool available
Apr 09 13:35:23 proxmox1 pvestatd[1685]: zfs error: cannot open 'zfs-pve02': no such pool

If i try to mount the Storage using something like:

mount proxmox2:/zfs-pve02 /mnt/zfs-pve02

I get errors like:

"Connection refused" or "unable to open datasheet"

Current configuration in the "/etc/pve/storage.cfg"

zfspool: zfs-pve02
pool zfs-pve02
content images,rootdir
mountpoint /zfs-pve02
nodes proxmox1,proxmox2
sparse 0

zfspool: zfs-pve01
pool zfs-pve01
content rootdir,images
mountpoint /zfs-pve01
nodes proxmox1,proxmox2
sparse 0

Does my plan even make sense? I heard, that zfs cannot be shared to other Servers in the Node. But it is apparently possible if both Storages have the same name. Since we have different sized Storages, that is also not a solution for us, since we would loose Storage space.

Thank you very much for any advice in advance.

If i need to provide any additional Information please let me know.