Setting up pfSense in ProxMox - initial setup and permanent

zachlovescoffee

Jul 30, 2023
Hey folks, I'm new to Proxmox but so far enjoying it and think it's great. I am looking to get some help for how to initially set up the network before and after stand the server up.

• Current State: WAN (192.168.0.254 gateway) > Linksys Mesh Router (192.168.1.1 gateway) > back hauled and wireless mesh nodes and various unmanaged switches > devices.
    • The WAN is in bypass mode so it does not do any DHCP. It's just passing fiber internet to the Linksys router
  • Future state network: WAN > NUC11 running pfSense in Proxmox (firewall, DHCP, etc) > Linksys Mesh Router in Bridge Mode > back hauled / wireless mesh nodes and switches > devices
    • The NUC has two onboard NICs with a current address of 192.168.1.xxx.
I'm struggling with how to do the initial network set up. I.e., when I plug the NUC into my current 192.168.1.1 subnet and start making changes, I lose my ability to connect to the ProxMox box if I start to make any network changes and also cannot connect to pfSense to configure it. E.g., if I change the ProxMox server (/etc/network/interfacts & hosts) to say 192.168.2.2 then I cannot get to that subnet from my current subnet. Admittedly I am probably using terms incorrectly.

Can you suggest a means for how I can best do the initial set up on my current subnet (192.168.1.x) and then make the swap so that I minimize my down time? Ideally, once everything is set up I'd like the WAN to still be on the 192.168.0.x subnet and my actual LAN to be on the 192.168.1.x subnet.

I really appreciate your help and support here :)

Oh. Snap. I have vmbr0 and vmbr1 both Intel NICs each with their own addresses on the 192.168.1.x subnet. You're saying I need a third? vmbr2?

Last edited:
Oh. Snap. I have vmbr0 and vmbr1 both Intel NICs each with their own addresses on the 192.168.1.x subnet. You're saying I need a third? vmbr2?