Seeking advice for 2 node cluster

nakata720

Jul 9, 2023
Hello everyone !

I am setting up a proxmox cluster with two nodes. I know that the cluster must be with at least 3 nodes but I for now that is what I can afford.

I have two identical servers each of them with two storage devices in raid 1 - 256GB/198GB (The operating system is installed on the raid)
The raids are created in the bios of the machines.

Up to now I have already created the cluster and gave the primary node two votes :
1689151757751.png 1689151970131.png

Now I want to create local storage for the two nodes to be able to replicate the (future) CTs and VMs. I have chosen the ZFS option but when I try to create one I get this :
1689152371111.png

Here are my disks : node 1 1689152531214.png

node 2
1689152584809.png

What did I miss guys ? I am sorry for the question but I am still a newbie o_O

Thank you !

Hardware RAID provided by your PERC is not compatible with software RAID provided by ZFS.

You're trying to build RAID on an already RAIDed system.

Last edited:
Reactions: Kingneutron
Using ZFS on top of a hardware raid is not recommended as mentioned in the documentation here.

I would recommend either disabling the hardware raid in the bios or choosing an other file system

Thank you very much for your response guys !
So how can I configure the storage for the 2 nodes and enable the replication ?
I want to stay with the hardware raid if it's possible. Should I configure Ceph instead ?

No Ceph is not a good idea with hardware raid either and also needs 3 discs to work properly.

If you have a hardware raid, your hardware is managing that part. Just go for plain ext4 or xfs then

And replication relies on ZFS. And with only 2 nodes you need a VM on a NAS or some cheap SBC/Thin-Client as a qDevice to act as a third voter. Without that, if any of your 2 nodes will be unavailable, the other one will stop working too because of quorum loss.