SDN: "Backend isolated network" DHCP failing without gateway

Shlee

Apr 3, 2023
Hey team, I'm on the latest packages on a enterprise sub.

I want to build a SDN Zone that is private/internally routed only... a nice dumb switch with no internet access.
1702694915248.png

I've added a simple Zone, with a VNET... and added a subnet called BE with a DHCP range
1702695074283.png1702695080490.png

This results in an eth interface with no IPv4 from the DHCP
1702695109522.png

Now.. adding a gateway to the subnet
1702695189398.png

This fixes the DHCP lease for IPv4...
1702695209440.png
but also breaks my routing!
1702695241673.png

I assume this might be worth a bug report in the bugzilla, but I've never used that before (I'll look into it if this issue is not user error)

Attachments

• 1702695007644.png
    1702695007644.png
    15.1 KB · Views: 7
I will confirm.. thank you for catching that

edit: I've fixed the subnet.. but the original issue remains (no IPv4 via DHCP)

1702725733011.png

Last edited:
you need an ip on the vnet (currently this is the gatewayip), to be able to receive ip from dhcp. (dhcp server need a source ip address,and currently we reuse same ip than gateway, and a default gw route is also send)

so, your problem is that you have 2 default gw on webwp... ? (do you have 2 interfaces ? if yes, both on vnets with dhcp ?)

In short yeah, the gateway isn't actually the problem... it's the fact the route for the VNET seems to be 0.0.0.0/0 instead of the subnet.
I'd expect a second ETH interface to route to the subnet.

example:
Based on my default routes... once I add the secondary internal VNET interface. "BE"
1702774330712.png
I'd want to see `192.168.100.0/24 dev BE` etc etc

Last edited:
In short yeah, the gateway isn't actually the problem... it's the fact the route for the VNET seems to be 0.0.0.0/0 instead of the subnet.
I'd expect a second ETH interface to route to the subnet.

example: