Remove local-lvm and increase local

tmbiv56

Feb 20, 2023
I wanted to show the steps that I took to accomplish this task.
I am a real beginner to Proxmox, and I struggled with the idea of changing the disk partitions using a live disk and GParted, etc.
So, I looked for an easier method for me to do this, and I hope this helps someone.

I had installed proxmox about 10 months ago using all the defaults because I had never used it before.
I got 5 VM's running and all was dandy.
After time went by, I began relying on my VM's and realized I should back them up.
That's where the trouble was.
My SSD is 500gb. The default installation allocated 65gb to local, and the rest to local-lvm. My VM's only used 130gb of local-lvm, but a single windows backup consumed 25gb of the local volume.
I watched Chuck Networks youtube video, and he explains the process of removing local-lvm and increasing local.
HOWEVER, that was on a clean install. Not a situation where VM's had already been created. What would happen on my server????

Here is what I did to accomplish the same results. (I do think there are errors in the order I did things, (see #2) but they do work with no issues)

1. First step is to do backups of all VM's and then copy those backups to a usb or other machine.
In my case, I didn't have enough room on the local volume to make backups of every machine, so I made as many as I could, the moved them off to another server I have running using the scp command. (works great). Backups are located in /var/lib/vz/dump

2. After backups are safely made, I suggest using the GUI to remove all the VM's and any CT containers. (I did not do this until later, and I think it would be easier to do it at this point).

3. Using the Proxmox GUI, go to the node, click storage and select local-lvm. I used the 'Remove' button to remove the volume.

4. Then I clicked on the node, and clicked shell. Once in the shell, I entered this command (as stated in chuck's video)