Really slow NIC speeds

cdsJerry

Renowned Member
Sep 12, 2011
I have some Windows Server 2019 VMs built on Proxmox 6.1-3. I have NICs in them configured as VirtIO (paravirtualized) per recommendations. It's connected to 1GB router. However the speed on the NIC is really slow. It varies from 0 to 5mb, most of the time around 1.5-2MB/s. Why so slow? The PVE shows a delay of .15%. There's plenty of room on the network for faster traffic.

What needs to be done to get a reasonable speed out of this VM?

I already installed them.

Device Manager confirms the Network adapters are Red Hat VirtIO Ethernet Adapters.

So far it's taken almost 2 hours to copy 24GB over the NIC... and it's still not finished. It says there's another 5GB to go.

Based on almost 2 hours to copy 24GB / another 5GB to go, your WAN speed is (more or less) = 20 mbps.

- Try this i have some experience with Windows Server and by default applied this in all install that i made:

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us...-chimney-offload-receive-side-scaling-and-net

In Windows Server command prompt:
netsh int tcp set global chimney=disabled
netsh int tcp set global autotuning=disabled
netsh int tcp set global rss=disabled

Restart the Windows Server VM and test again.

So if I understand this correctly, Windows is passing the workload to the NIC and in this case, the virtual NIC isn't doing a very good job of it. So we run the commands to place the workload on the CPU instead of the NIC card. Is that correct? Indeed when I run "netsh int tcp show global " it does show it enabled. However...

I wonder if it's different in Server 2019? When I run the "netsh int tcp set global chimney=disabled " command from the Powershell I get an error.
Code:
'chimney' is not a valid argument for this command.
The syntax supplied for this command is not valid. Check help for the correct syntax.

Usage: set global [[rss=]disabled|enabled|default]
             [[autotuninglevel=]