Proxmox VE CEPH configuration help needed!

Jan 11, 2024
I will preface this by saying I am a total ProxMox/CEHP noob... I am good with Linux and I have been a VMware Admin/Engineer for the better part of 2 decades...

I have looked through dozens of walk-thoughts and videos but I am still struggling with CEPH and I need some help.
Goal:
HA VM/Storage Cluster with Tiered Storage Capability
NVME
SSD
Spinner

Current Environment:
4x Compute Nodes Dell PowerEdge R650 w/
1TB RAM
2x 64GB Sata-Dom ProxMox OS
3x 2TB SSD RAIDz ZFS Local Storage

3x SuperMicro Mass storage servers w/
512GB RAM
2x 64GB Sata-Dom ProxMox OS
4x 2TB NVME
12x 2TB SSD
14x 16TB HDD Spinner Drives

40Gbps interface dedicated CEPH/Cluster Network
4x10Gbps Bonded Client Network

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated!

Seems pretty straight forward. Without knowing what your use case is, seems like 3 pools by device class. nvme pool and ssd pools for "faster" and "fast" rbd, the HDD pool for cephfs.

I also want to note that ceph requires TWO networks, not one- if you're going to use a single interface for both public and private traffic expect a maximum possible performance of half the link speed. Not likely to impact you much with a 40gb interface but worth a mention.

if you want to be more specific about what you want to accomplish might have better (more tailored) suggestions.

Sorry, but I have to catch this straight away so it doesn't become a habit. The company is called Proxmox (no capital M), the product you use is called Proxmox VE.

See: https://www.proxmox.com/en/about/media-kit
I strongly advise you not to use SATA DOMs or SD cards for Proxmox VE. You may be familiar with this from VMware, but with PVE you'll be replacing parts more often than you can imagine. The parts are intended to be read-only, but Debian writes significantly more than VMware. At least I've only had bad experiences with it, preferring two Samsung SM or PM with 120 or 240GB.
3x 2TB SSD RAIDz ZFS Local Storage