Proxmox Offline Mirror - Debian Repository needed?

roggeb

Dec 14, 2023
Hi,

I set um the Proxmox Offline Mirror successfully, and connected my nodes with it.

My question is fairly simple: To keep my nodes updated (and most importantly all security holes patched), do I need a snapshot of the Debian repository, too?

Right now I only snapshotted (meaning syncd and downloaded) the PVE and Ceph repositories, thinking that would be enough for the future. But now I am in doubt. I guess the newest kernel version would only be in the Debian repository? (Excuse my naiveté, I have been a purely Windows admin and user before.)
I am asking, because the Debian repo is fairly big and I would prefer to skip that.

Here are the options the PMO gives me for selecting repositories, when doing the guided setup:
Bash:
Select distro to mirror
   0) Proxmox VE
   1) Proxmox Backup Server
   2) Proxmox Mail Gateway
   3) Proxmox Ceph
   4) Debian

Also: why can't I put the PVE, Ceph and Debian repo into one snapshot? It says my input "034" is not a valid choice. Whereas "03" is.

Thank you in advance.

you also need the matching Debian repository, just like a regular PVE system needs to have that configured. if you use the guided mode to setup a PVE mirror, it will ask you whether you want to mirror the corresponding Debian repositories as well. you can filter (by section or package name) to reduce the scope of the mirroring if space usage is a concern - but note that Debian stable gets a lot less updates than PVE itself, so once you have a mirror, it shouldn't be too expensive to keep it up to date.

Also: why can't I put the PVE, Ceph and Debian repo into one snapshot? It says my input "034" is not a valid choice. Whereas "03" is.