[SOLVED] Proxmox Host crashing and Freezing daily

mRZ

Jul 13, 2021
Hello,

Note: I am not that good at reading logs and knowing which file logs what, so just let me know if you need something.

What is the Problem:
My host is crashing/freezing daily for a long time now. I would say about the time when I upgraded to PVE7 (shortly after release) also I installed a GPU around this time for passthrough to my Plex VM. I have tried a lot of things now but the only thing I "achieved" was that the host is not crashing all the time, instead it's now freezing sometimes or at first only some random VMs or CTs freeze.

Pictures of some screenshotted crashes/freezes:
snapshot 2.jpg
snapshot 1.jpg
Proxmox Container Donw and Host up.jpg
Nach Feature=Nesting1.jpg
snapshot1.jpg

This was no crash/freeze but seemed weird so I screenshotted it:
snapshot.jpg

Before reinstalling Proxmox on the host, I got these GRUB messages (now I use UEFI):
Bios Bug.png

What is my Setup:

• AMD Ryzen 5 PRO 4650G
  • 64GB RAM non ECC
  • Gigabyte Aorus AMD x570 PRO Motherboard (newest BIOS - F36)
  • NVIDIA Quadro P400
  • All VMs and Container run on M.2 (2x Samsung 970 Evo 1TB - ZFS Mirror) SSDs
  • Some have a data pool attached (2x Seagate Ironwolf Pro 6TB - ZFS Mirror + Log & Zil (2 partitions on same drive) on Seagate FireCuda M.2)
  • Host is running on 2x Seagate IronWolf 510 Sata SSD - ZFS Mirror
  • PVE Packages:
    proxmox-ve: 7.4-1 (running kernel: 5.15.104-1-pve)pve-manager: 7.4-3 (running version: 7.4-3/9002ab8a)
    pve-kernel-5.15: 7.4-1
    pve-kernel-5.15.104-1-pve: 5.15.104-2
    pve-kernel-5.15.102-1-pve: 5.15.102-1
    ceph-fuse: 15.2.17-pve1
    corosync: 3.1.7-pve1
    criu: 3.15-1+pve-1
    glusterfs-client: 9.2-1
    ifupdown2: 3.1.0-1+pmx3
    ksm-control-daemon: 1.4-1
    libjs-extjs: 7.0.0-1
    libknet1: 1.24-pve2
    libproxmox-acme-perl: 1.4.4
    libproxmox-backup-qemu0: 1.3.1-1
    libproxmox-rs-perl: 0.2.1
    libpve-access-control: 7.4-2