Production and Test Environments - Best configuration options

geoffh

Aug 24, 2020
Hi
I'm a noob, so just need some guidance.
I have been running ProxMox 6.2-4 on an Intel NUC in a test environment for some time to get used to the product and to see if it meets my needs.
I like the product very much and there seems to be a lot of help available in the forum, using web searches as well as YouTubers. This test environment has currently 21 virtual machines/LXCs comprising 3-4 versions of linux, Windows 10, Docker and Portainer. I intend to continue to use this test machine as my "sand-box" to try things out, get the configurations right and so on.
I have a new machine on order to use as my production machine. There is nothing that I do that needs high availability and I can suffer some small outages from time to time so long as I can recover (from back-ups if need be).
I would like to be able to see both the Test and Production environments on the one web interface (https://999.999.999..201:8006)
I would also like to be able to copy a production ready VM or LXC from the Test to Production environment
Is the only way that I can achieve this is to join these hardware environments into a cluster?

I have searched the internet, YouTube and this forum for a specific answer and have failed to find a definitive answer.
Thank you for any assistance/guidance you can provide

hi,

I would like to be able to see both the Test and Production environments on the one web interface (https://999.999.999..201:8006)
I would also like to be able to copy a production ready VM or LXC from the Test to Production environment
Is the only way that I can achieve this is to join these hardware environments into a cluster?
the easiest way to achieve what you want is joining them in a cluster, yes.

copying VM/CT can be done without joining a cluster, you can do a backup/restore

Reactions: geoffh

About