Praid CP400I failed to instal Proxmox 8.0

Brabo

Jul 29, 2023
Hello,

I am facing problem while installing proxmox 8.0 on Fujitsu PRIMERGY TX1320 M3 server with FUJITSU PRAID CP400i. Both bios and FW raid cards are the latest from the Fujitsu website.

When I try to install proxmox I see in the error log

megaraid_sas Init cmd return status failed for failed SCSI host​
megaraid_sas Failed from megasas_init_fw 6542​

I found information on the forum about adding the boot sequence parameter "intel_iommu=on iommu=pt" unfortunately it was without result.
I tried to install the older version of proxmox 6.4 and the same error appears.
I tried to install ubuntu 18 LTS also can't.
Only windows server R2 2012 can be installed without problems.

I'm not a complete expert on linux, is there any chance to run proxmox on this HW raid?

Bios Revision R1.34.0
Board GS D3373-B12 3
SPS FW 4.1.4.700
PRAID CP400i
Package 24.21.0-0151
FW Version 4.680.01-8560
Bios Version 6.36.00.3_4.19.08.00_0x06180205
Boot Block Version 3.07.00.00-0004

Best regards, Ondřej

I tried to install ubuntu 18 LTS also can't.
Both have the same kernel, try something different like Debian or Oracle Linux 7.

Fujitsu PRIMERGY TX1320 M3 server with FUJITSU PRAID CP400i
I had a similar experience with an RX1330 M4 and a raid controller there. I cannot remember the Fujitsu name, but internally is was recognized as Intel C246 and loaded the megasr2 (embedded mega raid) driver, which presents itself as software raid via /proc/mdadm. One additional kernel parameter I used was modprobe.blacklist=ahci and loaded the vendor provided driver (only for RHEL-systems). I had a lot of problems with the raid controller In the end we downgraded the OS version to a previous version and used that one for the project and used only real hardware controllers for the next project with that platform.

I tried to download debian, but the situation is the same, the installer does not find any disk, i.e. the raid array.