PBS advices on backup

CedricKid

Apr 22, 2024
Hello, I'm new to Proxmox Backup Server and I'd like to know if there are any good practices I should be aware of.

For installation, I have 3 nodes in a cluster. I installed Proxmox Backup Server in a virtual machine on Ceph storage, and I'm storing my backups on another Ceph pool. Does this seem secure, or are there potential issues? (This is a home lab, so I don't have unlimited resources.)

Regarding backups, I don't have a clear idea of how many backups I should do per day, week, or month for a typical web server, for instance. Same problem on retention policies. Do you have advices ?

Thank you in advance for your feedback.

Regarding backups, I don't have a clear idea of how many backups I should do per day, week, or month for a typical web server, for instance. Same problem on retention policies. Do you have advices ?
Thanks to the deduplication it doesn't matter that much as long as your data isn'T changing much. Something like 14 daily + 8 weeky + 12 monthly + 10 yearly might take less space than a few daily VZDump backups.

For installation, I have 3 nodes in a cluster. I installed Proxmox Backup Server in a virtual machine on Ceph storage, and I'm storing my backups on another Ceph pool. Does this seem secure, or are there potential issues? (This is a home lab, so I don't have unlimited resources.)
Not great for ransomware protection. See: https://pbs.proxmox.com/docs/storage.html#ransomware-protection-recovery
Best would be one or two dedicated PBS serverswith local SSD storage for fast IOPS and that those won't be affected if you lose your PVE hosts.

Thanks to the deduplication it doesn't matter that much as long as your data isn'T changing much. Something like 14 daily + 8 weeky + 12 monthly + 10 yearly might take less space than a few daily VZDump backups.