Feb 10, 2021
Environment:
- Proxmox v6.3-2
- Brand new installation
- 3 Nodes configured in a Cluster

Setup:
- Configured a 64GB partition on a 900GB local drive during installation

Aim:
- I want to add another VLM-Thin partition for VM disk storage on the free space on the existing disk

Issues:
- I am an IT veteran but a Linux / Proxmox newbie
- I've read the available documentation but the required process is not clear to me
- Similar threads / articles that I can find do not describe my specific situation or are not clear enough
- I do not want to reinstall

I selected a 64GB partition during installation on the (mistaken?) understanding that I was specifying the size of the 'system' partitions and that I could simply create another partition for data storage.

How can I do this?

Code:
root@Proxmox1:~# fdisk -l
Disk /dev/sda: 838.3 GiB, 900151926784 bytes, 1758109232 sectors
Disk model: LOGICAL VOLUME 
Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 262144 bytes / 262144 bytes
Disklabel type: gpt
Disk identifier: 9302129F-0518-4747-B459-F06B9BFA7869

Device       Start       End   Sectors  Size Type
/dev/sda1       34      2047      2014 1007K BIOS boot
/dev/sda2     2048   1050623   1048576  512M EFI System
/dev/sda3  1050624 134217728 133167105 63.5G Linux LVM

Partition 1 does not start on physical sector boundary.

Disk /dev/mapper/pve-swap: 7.9 GiB, 8455716864 bytes, 16515072 sectors

Disk /dev/mapper/pve-root: 15.8 GiB, 16911433728 bytes, 33030144 sectors

Code:
root@Proxmox1:~# lvdisplay
  --- Logical volume ---
  LV Path                /dev/pve/swap
  LV Name                swap
  VG Name                pve
  LV UUID                idAMcg-DF2d-LOYN-9WgM-Ut9q-UT4I-yy61on
  LV Write Access        read/write
  LV Creation host, time proxmox, 2021-01-07 16:49:05 +1300
  LV Status              available
  # open                 2
  LV Size                <7.88 GiB