Optimal home Network topology with Proxmox

exciting_spaghetti

Jan 8, 2024
Dear all,

I am trying to build a home server where i want to run few services, such as Nextcloud, as LXC contianers. I am relatively new to networking and before posting here i have read several pieces of documentation. Nevertheless, i still have doubts regarding the best setup for my use case.

Here below i summarize my needs:
  • I have a modem/router provided by my ISP and i can't change it. Moreover, its features are quite limited, especially when It comes ti firewalling.
  • I want to create a Nextcloud AIO LXC container reachable from a Caddy reverse proxy (deployed in a different container).
  • I have a domain that will point toward the static IP of my router which will pass internet traffic to the reverse proxy on port 443.
Given the above, i am wondering what can i do to increase the security of the above setup, maybe by including and additional firewall. Moreover, i would love to have some isolation, but i can't set VLAN or DMZ with my ISP router, so i don't know what's the most appropriate way to set this up.

I have seen people doing similar things with the PVE firewall or with Opnsense running in a VM. However my server has only 1 nic and i am actually quite confused about how should this work.

Since i am new to network security, please forgive me! I would love to learn new things about this field.

Given the above, i am wondering what can i do to increase the security of the above setup,
Not using LXCs but VMs would be a good start for stuff thats public and attackable by any bot net out there.
VMs are much better isolated.

Moreover, i would love to have some isolation, but i can't set VLAN or DMZ with my ISP router, so i don't know what's the most appropriate way to set this up.
Use an additional OPNsense VM between your PVE host and guests to create your DMZ.

However my server has only 1 nic and i am actually quite confused about how should this work.